Get Ready For Health Care Reform

Big Changes Are Taking Place In Health Care

Presented By Highmark
Under the law, mostly everyone who lives in the United States must have health insurance or program. You can enroll starting October 1, 2013. Coverage can begin as early as January 1, 2014.  By March 31, 2014, everyone must have health insurance coverage, or you may have to pay a new tax.  The new Health Insurance Marketplace created under the law, is another way you can go online and shop for coverage.  In the Marketplace, there will be four levels of coverage that plans will offer. They are known by their “metal names” which are: Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum. Bronze provides the least generous level of benefits while Platinum provides the most.  While they will offer the same essential benefits (these include emergency services, hospitalization, maternity services, newborn care and more), some plans may cost more on a monthly basis, and you may have to pay more out-of-pocket expenses.

Who is eligible?
• Anyone can use the Health Insurance Marketplace to explore their health insurance  
options, even if you already have insurance now.

The only requirements to get insurance 
through the Marketplace are:
• You must live in the state in which the Marketplace serves
• You must be a citizen, a U.S. national otherwise lawfully present in the U.S.
•You can’t be currently incarcerated

Have more questions?
Highmark can help!

There are many ways to reach us:
Explore our website:
Visit a Highmark Direct store near you

For additional information from the Federal Government, please visit


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply